Archive for the 'Databases' Category

Research in the Palm of Your Hand

Rohrbach Library now subscribes to EBSCOhost Mobile! This version of EBSCOhost offers the most important features available to you on desktops and laptops, but is tailored for cell phone access. So now you can do your research any time, anywhere. All you need is your phone.

To access EBSCOhost Mobile, follow this link: http://navigator-kutztown.passhe.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=mobile. Remember to have either your KU Student ID barcode number or your network login handy because, just like the other databases offered by Rohrbach Library, you need this information to access EBSCOhost Mobile from an off-campus device.

For more information on EBSCOhost Mobile, including its features and which devices support this database, check out this FAQ page. You can also contact Bob Flatley, librarian, at flatley@kutztown.edu or 610-683-4168.

To see a full list of databases offered by Rohrbach Library, click here.

-CS

Popular vs. Scholarly Resources

For those of you who are getting started with a whole new semester of research, here is a handout that compares popular and scholarly sources. I like to re-post it once in a while for those who are looking for a comparison or explanation on what “scholarly resources” means. :) Happy Researching!

http://www.kutztown.edu/library/materials/PopularvsScholarly.pdf

A “Green” Database to Explore

GreenFILE is a  new database available to KU patrons through EBSCOhost. According to the description from EBSCOhost:

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

To begin searching on this database, please follow the following link (validation required for off-campus access):

http://voyager.ship.edu/remote/validate.cgi?db=EBSCO&custom=%22profile=ehost&defaultdb=8gh%22

Announcing Oxford Reference Online

The library is pleased to announce the addition of Oxford Reference Online.  This new database brings the best reference sources in the world to our students 24/7 anywhere in the world!

 Oxford Reference Online “includes over 175 titles, updated regularly with an expanding range of key titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series, plus the Visual English Dictionary, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations and new heavily illustrated natural history titles such as the Encyclopedia of Mammals.  This means a total of over 1.4 million entries, including longer in-depth, signed entries with bibliographies.  Subscribers also benefit from improved search funtionality which makes it easy to choose between longer or shorter entries from subject reference titles, definitions from English or bilingual dictionaries, and quotations.  The collection is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-color maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.”

You can view all the library’s databases here.

Over 1500 free videos now in online catalog!

1545 free videos from Annenberg Media are now searchable in our online catalog thanks to Michael Weber, Technical Services Librarian!  The records link patrons to the online streaming videos produced by Annenberg.  To access these videos, users only need to register with Annenberg’s Website (which is free and easy with little personal information required) and log in to the site!

Available titles cover a wide range of curriculum subjects.

(see: http://www.learner.org/resources/browse.html)

Some examples:

More about Annenberg (from their Website):

“Our mission is to advance excellent teaching in American schools through the development and distribution of multimedia resources for teaching and learning. We are a unit of the Annenberg Foundation, which funds a wide range of programs in education and other areas.”

For more information, please contact Karen Wanamaker (6 10-683-4709) or a librarian at the Reference Desk (610-683-4165).

Women’s History Month

March is Women’s History Month!  Check out some of the great events that are happening on campus in celebration of women:

Wednesday, March 18th – 20th Annual Decision Makers Forum – TV and News personality  Barbara Walters will speak at 8 pm in the Keystone Arena.  For sponsorship and ticket information, contact the KU Foundation at 610-683-1394 or visit their website.

Wednesday, March 18th – Sovereign Bank Academic Session -
A special live-mike Q&A will be held with Barbara Walters at 4 p.m. in the Keystone Arena exclusively for KU students, faculty and staffAdmission is free! Tickets may be picked up at the KU Foundation office in Maple Manor with presentation of a valid KU ID.

Tuesday, March 24th – DiversityFest Speakers Series Presents Donna Brazile, author of “Cooking With Grease” and named One of the “50 Top Women in America”, according to Essence. Visit her website for more information.   This event is at 7 p.m. in Schaeffer Auditorium.

Tuesday, March 31stArtist Lydia Ruyle will showcase her work around campus.  Visit her website for more information.  She will also be the speaker for the Women’s Center 20th Anniversary Celebration.  Catch her lecture at 7:30 pm in the McFarland Student Union Alumni Auditorium.

Tuesday, March 31st – Women’s Center 20th Anniversary Celebration -The Women’s Center will be hosting a dinner to celebrate being operational for 20 years.  Tickets and more information are available in the Women’s Center in Old Main 126.

For more information about women’s health and the events listed, please visit the Kutztown University Women’s Center.

For more information on women in history, visit these library databases, Women and Social Movements in the United States and Women Working.

National Geographic Society Founded in 1888

On January 27th, 1888, the National Geographic Society was founded in Washington D.C.  Nine years after its creation, the society began publishing the now-famous National Geographic magazine, which has been in print ever since!

Celebrate the occasion by checking out the National Geographic website.  Learn more about the society’s mission, view photos,  and check out videos.

For extensive geographical resources, check out our Geographical Articles and Databases.

Web of Science

By Robert Flatley
Coordinator of Electronic Resources, Interlibrary Loan, and Periodicals

The library is pleased to announce that it is now a subscriber to the world’s premier citation database. Web of Science provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world’s leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide. This tool allows authors to determine the significance of their work in terms of how often other authors are citing it. It also allows researchers to determine which articles are the most significant in a given field based on how often its been cited. The Web of Science covers over 200 fields. The Institute for Scientific Information, the publisher of Web of Science, invented the concept of citation analysis and is the gold standard. The library is very proud to offer this service to our faculty and students. This product is normally only available to researchers at major research institutions like Penn State or Columbia. This is a major step forward for researchers at Kutztown University. No longer will our faculty and students have to travel to other campuses to access this tool.

Our subscription includes:
Science Citation Index, 1975 – current
Social Sci Citation Index, 1975 – current
Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975 – current
You can access all 3 databases at the library’s database page by clicking on “W” for Web of Science.

The library will be setting up training for faculty this semester.

For more information contact Bob Flatley, Electronic Resources Librarian, at flatley@kutztown.edu or 610-683-4168.

New Database: Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

By Robert Flatley
Coordinator of Electronic Resources, Interlibrary Loan, and Periodicals

The Library is pleased to announce the acquisition of the Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media for the first time ever in electronic format. This venerable reference resource can now be accessed anywhere/anytime via the web.

Description below: Ebook version of the Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. This directory has been the definitive source for media information since 1969. The premier directory for up-to-date data, it contains more than 57,000 listings for radio and television stations, cable companies and print media publishers. Detailed entries provide full contact information, including address, phone and fax numbers, e-mail addresses and Web site URLs, listings of key personnel, including feature editors, owner information, hours of operation, publications or networks carried, and much more.

You can access all the library’s e-resources at: http://www.kutztown.edu/library/er/

Announcing: Oxford Islamic Studies Online

By Robert Flatley
Coordinator of Electronic Resources, Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals

Oxford Islamic Studies Online brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. Encompasses over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur’anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines.

Edited by John L. Esposito, University Professor of Religion and International Affairs and of Islamic Studies, Georgetown University.

Next Page »